Copyright © Siegfried L. Kratochwil & Aryan Assadi. All Rights Reserved.

Naiver Maler/Dichter

Siegfried L. Kratochwil (1916-2005)

Siegfried L. Kratochwil is recognized as one of the best Austrian naïve painters. He was born in 1916 in Karlstift (Lower Austria). He attended school in Vienna. "Even as a child, nothing meant more to me than nature and the outdoors." After enrolling in a trade school he became a technician and tool maker. Due to hardship, he was forced to try his hand at various professions. He married in 1939. His ill health kept him from military duty.

 

"Our daughter Erika was born in 1941. During her school years I would help her with drawing and painting. Painting simply made me happy. The beauty about painting is that nobody can hinder me from interpreting life the way I see it. In the fifties I became a Goldsmith because this profession suddenly intrigued me. It was here that I was driven to more precision in my paintings. They call me a dreamer. But who’s bothered if I 'dream.' At least the result of my dreams are paintings which hang in famous museums and private collections, for which I am very thankful."

 

Siegfried L. Kratochwil prefers to paint Viennese motifs, for each of which he writes a poem. They named him, "The painter with the dreaming heart." It is because of this trait, that he has many admirers around the world.

 

—Rolf Italiaander: 1981 A. Korsch Verlag, München-Wien

Copyright © Siegfried L. Kratochwil & Aryan Assadi. Alle Rechte Vorbehalten

Naiver Maler/Dichter

Siegfried L. Kratochwil (1916-2005)

Siegfried L. Kratochwil wird von Kennern der naiven Malerei als bester unter den Österreichern eingestuft. 1916 wurde er in Karlstift (Niederösterreich) geboren. Die Schule besuchte er in Wien. "Schon als Kind bedeutete mir nichts mehr als die Freiheit und die Natur." Nach dem Besuche einer Berufsschule war er zunächst Mechaniker und Werkzeugmacher. Notgedrungen mußte er vielerlei Berufe ausüben. 1939 heiratete er. Sein schlechter Gesundheitszustand bewahrte ihn vor dem Militär.

 

"1941 kam unsere Tochter Erika zur Welt. Während ihrer Schulzeit half ich ihr beim Zeichnen und Malen. Malen machte mir ganz einfach Freude. Das Schöne am Malen ist: Es hindert mich kein Mensch, das Leben so wiederzugeben wie ich es halt sehe. In den fünfziger Jahren wurde ich Goldschmied, weil mich plötzlich dieser Beruf lockte. Hier wurde ich zu mehr Präzision in der Malerei erzogen. Man nennt mich einen Eigenbrödler. Wen stört's wenn ich "brödle?" Schließlich hat mein Brödeln Bilder zum Ergebnis, die, wofür ich sehr dankbar bin, schon in berühmten Privatsammlungen und Museen hängen."

 

Siegfried L. Kratochwil malt mit Vorliebe Wiener Motive und schreibt zu jedem Bild ein Gedicht. "Der Maler mit dem träumenden Herzen" hat man ihn genannt. Auch wegen dieser Eigenschaft hat er heute in vielen Ländern seine Bewunderer.

 

—Rolf Italiaander: 1981 A. Korsch Verlag, München-Wien